Bus Route Review 17 and 28

Bus routes 17 and 28 are being reviewed

Route 17, Bryndwr to Huntsbury starts at Sheffield Crescent near Wairakei Rd and Roydvale Ave and finishes up at Huntsbury Hill.

Route 28, Casebrook to Lyttelton, starts in Northwood and finishes at Lyttelton Port with some morning and afternoon trips extending to Rapaki.

Proposed changes include:

  • two new bus routes made up of a combination of the routes 17 and 28
  • increasing bus frequencies
  • extending one route to the Christchurch Airport
  • improving access to Ara and Moorhouse retail areas
  • supporting higher frequencies with new electric buses

Have a say and tell us your thoughts.

Have your say!

Consultation is open until Sunday 5 December. The Metro team will consider all feedback received before final changes are made.

We expect that changes would be implemented in 2023.

Why are we reviewing routes 17 and 28?

The Greater Christchurch Public Transport Futures programme, a ten-year plan, is about increasing service and accessibility to public transport for the community. It also aims to increase our low emission fleet, develop our response to climate change, and as a result, encourage people to make a change in their choice of transport.

Bus routes 17 and 28 are the first routes to be reviewed. We are looking at how we can design these routes to cater for both increased frequency and the inclusion of new or growing destinations.


Bus routes 17 and 28 are being reviewed

Route 17, Bryndwr to Huntsbury starts at Sheffield Crescent near Wairakei Rd and Roydvale Ave and finishes up at Huntsbury Hill.

Route 28, Casebrook to Lyttelton, starts in Northwood and finishes at Lyttelton Port with some morning and afternoon trips extending to Rapaki.

Proposed changes include:

  • two new bus routes made up of a combination of the routes 17 and 28
  • increasing bus frequencies
  • extending one route to the Christchurch Airport
  • improving access to Ara and Moorhouse retail areas
  • supporting higher frequencies with new electric buses

Have a say and tell us your thoughts.

Have your say!

Consultation is open until Sunday 5 December. The Metro team will consider all feedback received before final changes are made.

We expect that changes would be implemented in 2023.

Why are we reviewing routes 17 and 28?

The Greater Christchurch Public Transport Futures programme, a ten-year plan, is about increasing service and accessibility to public transport for the community. It also aims to increase our low emission fleet, develop our response to climate change, and as a result, encourage people to make a change in their choice of transport.

Bus routes 17 and 28 are the first routes to be reviewed. We are looking at how we can design these routes to cater for both increased frequency and the inclusion of new or growing destinations.


Ask a question about the proposed changes

loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Hi, will the new route from Northwood to Huntsbury still have bus stops on Highsted Road?

    Karen asked 5 days ago

    Yes, Highsted Rd will still be serviced as it is now. The streets the bus will travel around between the Bus Interchange and Northwood  are not expected to change.

  • Prior to the earthquakes you could get on the #28 bus at Lyttelton stops other than Norwich Quay. Will the new timetable enable residents to get on the bus on Winchester St and Oxford St so everyone does not have to walk down to Norwich Quay?

    Steph asked 6 days ago

    You are able to board at the present bus stops on Winchester St and Oxford St and this would not change. If you do get on on any stop around this loop you would then need to get off at the Norwich Quay stop and transfer to the bus that is leaving first. Your transfer is free and this may be a short wait.

  • Why can't I fill the form in. I live in Governors Bay and want to request an extension of the Rapaki service

    JDG asked 8 days ago

    The submissions are open to everyone. You will find on the on line form that Governors Bay comes up as a suburb. Go to the "Have Your Say" tab. Thank you

  • Am I correct when looking at the map- does the new proposed route for the 17 bus from Huntsbury still go the interchange but then not continue on its existing route?, rather then going towards Northland? My concern is all high school students in my area-Rangi, St Margarets, St Andrews and CGHS usually take the 17 and remain on it until a stop nearest their school. The new proposal means a change at the interchange.

    Andrea asked 8 days ago

    The proposed route for the Northwood to Huntsbury would go up Colombo St and Cranford St to Northlands Mall. These school students would need to transfer at the Bus Interchange onto a bus that goes to their schools either the new Port to Port for Rossall St, route 1 for Papanui Rd or route 29 for CGHS. With the increased frequency the wait should be minimal and transfers are free.

  • I can't find an online version of the submission form - where can I find it? I don't have a printer and the pdf version is not editable.

    Steph asked 6 days ago

    If you go to the tab's you will see beside this "Questions" tab there is the "Have Your Say" tab. Click into this and you will find the submission form that you can complete.

    Thank you for your participation

  • With the proposed changes to the #28 route, will the express bus stop before it gets to The Exchange say at Ara? Not everyone works in the central city. W

    Steph asked 6 days ago

    At present the express does not stop on route but can choose the fastest route into the CBD. This is the wording on the website.

    EXPRESS

    This trip does not pick up passengers after the last stop on Norwich Quay(Lyttelton) and will not drop passengers off before the Bus Interchange.

  • Does this port to port route go past the christchurch hospital, I think looking on the map it goes behind it, would it stop near the hospital?

    karen badger asked 10 days ago

    North of the Bus Interchange the proposed Port to Port route follows the present 17 route, along Hereford St, onto Rossall St and Wairakei Rd

  • I work at Christchurch hospital with start time 6:45am, there is no way I can catch a bus to the hospital on the No28 route now as it gets there too late, is it possible to make the no 28 bus route early enough to be able to get to the hospital at 6:30pm, also if going to airport often flights are early and it would be good if you could catch the bus at 5am to get to the airport on time.

    karen badger asked 10 days ago

    These are great questions and I will pass them onto the people who make decisions on times and schedules. Thank you

  • Would it be possible to speed up the process? I think this is a great idea, and see no reason to wait until 2023 for it.

    G asked 10 days ago

    We would love to implement changes that the public endorse soon but unfortunately there are a number of processes that need to happen first. If we increase the frequency of buses then we need more buses - and drivers. Ordering and having new buses built takes about 12 months. In the meantime Metro needs to write new bus schedules working out how all the buys trips fit together and the bus operators need to plan their drivers schedules. But first we need the public to tell us what they think and then our Councilors to approve any changes. I love your enthusiasm and thanks for your feedback.

  • I see on the map for the proposed Number 17 route on it southward leg going pass Ara it is going the wrong way against the north bound one way traffic. I trust this is an oversight & the route will follow the Number 28 one heading south on Barbados Street instead? Not unless there are plans to change Madras Street from a one way street heading north to a two way road. Otherwise...

    Alan asked 11 days ago

    You are correct that the proposed Port to Port route will go on the one way system past Ara, Madras and Barbadoes St's.

Page last updated: 22 November 2021, 10:31